Home » News
Home » News

How they voted on the HB76 override

Published April 22, 2013 2:51 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

There may not have been a whole lot of drama in it, but the Legislature officially voted Friday not to call itself back in session to override Gov. Gary Herbert's veto of HB76, Concealed Carry Amendments, which would have allowed adults to carry a hidden, unloaded weapon without obtaining a permit.

The House vote was 41 in favor of overriding the governor's veto, with 33 voting against. The Senate vote was 16 in favor of the override and 13 against. Constitutionally, it requires two-thirds of both chambers to override a veto, meaning it would have taken 50 supporters in the House and 20 in the Senate.

Below is the list of how each member voted on the override question.

Senate Tally

Supporting the override session:

Sen. Stuart Adams, R-LaytonSen. Allen Christensen, R-OgdenSen. Margaret Dayton, R-OremSen. Wayne Harper, R-TaylorsvilleSen. Deidre Henderson, R-Spanish ForkSen. David Hinkins, R-OrangevilleSen. Scott Jenkins, R-Plain CitySen. Mark Madsen, R-Eagle MountainSen. Aaron Osmond, R-South JordanSen. Stuart Reid, R-OgdenSen. Howard Stephenson, R-DraperSen. Jerry Stevenson, R-LaytonSen. Daniel Thatcher, R-West Valley CitySen. Steve Urquhart, R-St. GeorgeSen. Kevin Van Tassell, R-VernalSen. Todd Weiler, R-Woods Cross

Opposing the veto override:Sen. Curt Bramble, R-ProvoSen. Jim Dabakis, D-Salt Lake CitySen. Gene Davis, D-Salt Lake CitySen. Lyle Hillyard, R-LoganSen. Pat Jones, D-HolladaySen. Peter Knudson, R-Brigham CitySen. Karen Mayne, D-West Valley CitySen. Ralph Okerlund, R-MonroeSen. Luz Robles, D-Salt Lake CitySen. Brian Shiozawa, R-Cottonwood HeightsSen. John Valentine, R-OremSen. Evan Vickers, R-Cedar CitySenate President Wayne Niederhauser, R-Sandy

House Tally

Supporting the veto override:Rep. Jake Anderegg, R-LehiRep. Jerry Anderson, R-PriceRep. Stewart Barlow, R-Fruit HeightsRep. Roger Barrus, R-CentervilleRep. Mel Brown, R-CoalvilleRep. LaVar Christensen, R-DraperRep. Kay Christofferson, R-LehiRep. Rich Cunningham, R-South JordanRep. Brad Dee, R-OgdenRep. Susan Duckworth, D-MagnaRep. Jim Dunnigan, R-TaylorsvilleRep. Francis Gibson, R-MapletonRep. Brian Greene, R-Pleasant GroveRep. Richard Greenwood, R-RoyRep. Keith Grover, R-ProvoRep. Greg Hughes, R-DraperRep. Eric Hutchings, R-KearnsRep. Ken Ivory, R-West JordanRep. Michael Kennedy, R-AlpineRep. John Knotwell, R-HerrimanRep. Dana Layton, R-OremRep. David Lifferth, R-Eagle MountainRep. John Mathis, R-VernalRep. Dan McCay, R-RivertonRep. Mike McKell, R-Spanish ForkRep. Ronda Menlove, R-GarlandRep. Merrill Nelson, R-GrantsvilleRep. Jim Nielson, R-BountifulRep. Mike Noel, R-KanabRep. Curt Oda, R-CentervilleRep. Lee Perry, R-PerryRep. Val Peterson, R-OremRep. Paul Ray, R-ClearfieldRep. Marc Roberts, R-Spanish ForkRep. Dean Sanpei, R-ProvoRep. Curt Webb, R-LoganRep. John Westwood, R-Cedar CityRep. Ryan Wilcox, R-OgdenRep. Larry Wiley, D-Salt Lake CityRep. Brad Wilson, R-KaysvilleSpeaker Becky Lockhart, R-Provo

Opposing the veto override:Rep. Johnny Andeson, R-TaylorsvilleRep. Patrice Arent, D-MillcreekRep. Jim Bird, R-West JordanRep. Joel Briscoe, D-Salt Lake CityRep. Derek Brown, R-Cottonwood HeightsRep. Rebecca Chavez-Houck, D-Salt Lake CityRep. Tim Cosgrove, D-MurrayRep. Spencer Cox, R-NephiRep. Jack Draxler, R-LoganRep. Becky Edwards, R-North Salt LakeRep. Steve Eliason, R-SandyRep. Janice Fisher, D-West Valley CityRep. Gage Froerer, R-HuntsvilleRep. Craig Hall, R-West Valley CityRep. Steve Handy, R-LaytonRep. Lynn Hemingway, D-Salt Lake CityRep. Don Ipson, R-St. GeorgeRep. Brian King, D-Salt Lake CityRep. Brad Last, R-WashingtonRep. Kay McIff, R-RichfieldRep. Carol Spackman Moss, D-CottonwoodRep. Jeremy Peterson, R-OgdenRep. Dixon Pitcher, R-OgdenRep. Marie Poulson, D-Salt Lake CityRep. Kraig Powell, R-Heber CityRep. Edward Redd, R-LoganRep. Angela Romero, D-Salt Lake CityRep. Jennifer Seelig, D-Salt Lake CityRep. Lowry Snow, R-St. GeorgeRep. Jon Stanard, R-St. GeorgeRep. Kevin Stratton, R-OremRep. Earl Tanner, R-West JordanRep. Mark Wheatley, D-Salt Lake City

Rep. Dougals Sagers, R-Tooele, did not respond.

— Robert GehrkeTwitter: @RobertGehrke




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus