This is an archived article that was published on in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday in nonpartisan municipal primary elections that will narrow candidate fields for mayoral and city council seats to two in each race.

Among the most highly contested mayoral races is a seven-candidate chase in West Valley City, which has been rocked by controversy over incidents involving its police department. There is also a race among nine West Jordan residents to assume the top spot there.

In Salt Lake City, four council districts have primaries.

District 3 Councilman Stan Penfold is running for a second term against challengers Sherman W. Clow and Aaron Johnson.

District 1 Councilman Carlton Christensen, District 5 Councilwoman Jill Remington Love and District 7 Councilman Sorensen Simonsen are not seeking re-election.

Running in District 1 are: Isaac D. Arnold, Richard D.M. Barnes. Brad Bartholomew, J Dee Carlson, Kevin S. Parke and James Rogers.

Three candidates are on the primary ballot in District 5: Ernest Lloyd Cox, Bill Davis and Erin Mendenhall.

In District 7 Lisa Ramsey Adams, Amy Barry, Deb Henry, Topher Horman and Kevin Paulson are running for a slot on the general election ballot.

Council seats in Districts 2, 4 and 6 are not up for election this year.

Additional information on polling places is available from city recorders. Visit for election news and updates.

comments powered by Disqus