Home » News
Home » News

Utah Judicial Council members named

Published September 20, 2013 9:21 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Four judges have been elected to serve three-year terms on the Utah Judicial Council.

Court of Appeals Judge James Z. Davis, 3rd District Judge Randall N. Skanchy, 5th District Juvenile Court Judge Thomas M. Higbee, and Logan and Hyde Park Justice Court Judge David C. Marx have replaced Court of Appeals Judge Gregory K. Orme, 3rd District Judge Judith Atherton, 8th District Juvenile Court Judge Larry A. Steele and West Valley Justice Court Judge Brendan P. McCullagh who have completed their terms.

The Utah Judicial Council is the policymaking body for the judiciary. The council has the constitutional authority to adopt uniform rules for the administration of all courts in the state.

The council also sets standards for judicial performance, court facilities, support services, and judicial and non-judicial staff levels.

Utah Supreme Court Chief Justice Matthew B. Durrant is chairman of the council, which has 14 members.

Other members are as follows: 3rd District Juvenile Court Judge Kimberly K. Hornak, council vice chairman, Utah Supreme Court Justice Jill N. Parrish, 2nd District Judge Glen R. Dawson, 7th District Judge George Harmond, 3rd District Judge Paul G. Maughan, 4th District Justice Court Judge Reed S. Parkin, Clinton and Clearfield Justice Court Judge John Sandberg, Utah State Bar Representative John R. Lund, and Utah State Court Administrator Dan Becker who serves as secretariat to the council.

The judges and Utah State Bar representative all serve three-year terms.




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus