This is an archived article that was published on in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

St. George • The 37th annual St. George Marathon will be held Saturday morning.

Over 6,000 participants competed in the 26.2-mile race in 2012. Organizers expect a similar number this year. Wheelchair and hand-crank participants start at 6:40 a.m. Runners begin at 6:45 a.m.

The starting line is located on State Road 18 north of St. George, at an elevation of 5,243 feet. The finish line is located in Worthen Park, where the elevation is 2,678 feet.

The mostly-down hill course can contribute to some rapid times.

Last year, Fritz Van de Kamp of Salt Lake was the overall winner in 2:21.14. Amber Green of St. George won the women's division in 2:43.

comments powered by Disqus