Home » News
Home » News

SL County nominates incumbents for water boards

Published December 2, 2013 3:32 pm

Appointments • Council nominates pair despite governor's call for two-term limits.
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The Salt Lake County Council is standing up to Gov. Gary Herbert again when it comes to appointments to water-district boards.

Council members voted unanimously to include two multi-term incumbents, Royce Gibson and Richard McDonald, as their nominees for seats on the Jordan Valley Water Conservancy District board. The district primarily sells wholesale water to cities and other water districts in the Salt Lake Valley, but also has some retail customers in unincorporated areas.

Gibson, who represents Kearns and Magna, has been on the board for 18 years and is its finance committee chairman. McDonald, an east-side representative, is completing his second term.

"In the past, we have defied the governor in recommending people for a third or fourth term. Experience is certainly a good thing," said County Councilman Randy Horiuchi, referring to a council decision last month to nominate Councilman Michael Jensen to a third term on the Central Utah Water Conservancy District board. Jensen is currently that board's chairman.

In lobbying for council support, Gibson echoed many of the arguments Jensen put forth for staying on the water board — namely that water planning is extremely long term and complicated, making it advisable to have experienced people who understand the nuances of water law.

"I have decades of experience in the water industry that qualifies me for this position. I've served the citizens well," Gibson maintained. "I've been diligent attending meetings and learning the ins and outs of how the water industry works. I can see how everything interrelates. I'm pleading for a continuation."

To comply with the governor's directive, the council submitted two other names along with Gibson — Greg Christensen from the Kearns Improvement District and Mick Sudbury from the Magna Water District.

Joining McDonald on the council's list of eastside nominees are Councilman Richard Snelgrove and Steve Owens, former Utah State Bar president and son of late Rep. Wayne Owens.






Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus