Home » News
Home » News

Utah teachers win prestigious math, science awards

Published December 20, 2013 7:49 pm
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2013, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

A Murray teacher and a Spanish Fork teacher are this year's Utah winners of Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, the White House announced Friday.

Rebecca Elder, a teacher at McMillan Elementary in Murray, won the award for math, and Julie Hammari, a teacher at East Meadows Elementary in Spanish Fork, won the award for science.

Each year winners are selected from each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and Department of Defense schools around the world. Winners receive $10,000 each from the National Science Foundation.

A panel of scientists, mathematicians and educators selects the winners.

"These teachers are inspiring today's young students to become the next generation of American scientists, mathematicians, and innovators," President Barack Obama said in a statement. "Through their passion and dedication, and by sharing their excitement about science, technology, engineering, and math, they are helping us build a promising future for all our children."




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus