Home » News
Home » News

Newly elected city officials to take oaths of office

Published January 4, 2014 4:14 pm

Numerous newcomers beginning terms as mayors, council members.
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2014, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Next week will mark a changing of the guard for many Utah cities with the swearings-in of new mayors and city council members.

Under state law, the oaths for municipal officeholders must be administered at noon on the first Monday in January "or as soon thereafter as is practical." Some municipalities have set their ceremonies for later in the week as part of their regularly scheduled council meetings.

Cities will see plenty of new faces. Eight of Salt Lake County's 16 cities are getting new mayors, either because the current officeholder did not seek another term or the incumbent was defeated in the Nov. 5 general election.

Among the newcomers is West Valley City Mayor Ron Bigelow, who will succeed Mike Winder at the helm of Utah's second-largest city, which has been dealing with scandals surrounding its police department.

Murray is getting its first new mayor in 16 years, with Ted Eyre replacing the retiring Dan Snarr. In Taylorsville, City Councilman Larry Johnson won the mayoral seat and will succeed his opponent, Jerry Rechtenbach.

The other Salt Lake County municipalities with a new mayor are Draper, Troy Walker; Herriman, Carmen Freeman; Holladay, Robert Dahle; South Jordan, Dave Alvord; and West Jordan, Kim Rolfe.

Of Davis County's 15 cities, 10 are getting new mayors. And, in St. George, Mayor Daniel McArthur, who held the top spot for 20 years, will end his tenure when Councilman Jon Pike is sworn in.

Other changes include three new Salt Lake City Council members — James Rogers in District 1, Erin Mendenhall in District 5 and Lisa Ramsey Adams in District 7 — who will take the place of incumbents who didn't run again. District 3 incumbent Stan Penfold won a second term in November.

Elected officials in Salt Lake City, Taylorsville and West Valley City will recite their oaths at noon Monday at their city halls. Murray's ceremony is scheduled for noon Tuesday. For information on other municipalities, call city offices or check their websites.


Twitter: @PamelaMansonSLC —

Clearfield, Woods Cross have open council seats

O The November elections created openings on city councils of two Davis County municipalities — in Clearfield, where Councilman Mark Shepherd became mayor, and in Woods Cross, where voters also elevated Councilman Rick Earnshaw to the mayor's post.

Clearfield is taking applications for Shepherd's council seat until Jan. 14. Jan. 16 is the deadline for Woods Cross residents to apply to finish Earnshaw's term. The cities' councils will appoint the replacements.






Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus