Home » News
Home » News

Legislature pays respects to 19 fallen Utah soldiers

Published February 28, 2014 6:25 pm

Families listen • Gathering extra emotional after the state had no fallen soldiers a year earlier.
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2014, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

Last year, the Utah Legislature was able to skip honoring fallen soldiers. None had died. That made it more emotional Friday when it honored 19 this year — including one from World War II whose body was finally found last August.

In most years, a few family members of the fallen gather in front of the Senate and House chambers to hear a citation read. This year, so many family members attended that they snaked throughout the chambers to find enough room.

"We've gone from none to 19 in a year," an emotional Rep. Ryan Wilcox, R-Ogden, told the House. "There are few moments in life when gratitude ceases to be a virtuous gesture and instead becomes a solemn duty and a sacred honor."

He added, "Freedom is a precious gift bestowed upon us at an enormous cost. Utah's 19 — our 19 now — are among the thousands who have unselfishly sacrificed their own liberty to protect ours."

He told the families, "Today they are not only your sons. Today, they are our sons, too. You have endured unthinkable grief. May God grant you his lasting peace, and may you know of our love and respect for you and your sons."

"This is the job that I dread all year. But I won't let anyone else take it over for me," Sen. Allen Christensen, R-North Ogden, told the Senate. He told the families that although their loved ones are "gone temporarily, they are not forgotten."

Among them was 2nd Lt. Vernal J. Bird killed in New Guinea in 1944, but whose body was discovered last August.

Wilson said, "It's been a long time for a family. It's an honor to have them here today."

Others who died or were killed while serving during the past year included: Sgt. Shawn M. Nelson; Staff Sgt. Michael L. Valdes; Lt. Joshua R. Wall; Spc. David M. Gannon; Pfc. Cody J. Towse; Spc. Jeremy T. Olsen; Staff Sgt. Christian L. Larsen; 1st Sgt. Tracy L. Stapley; and Spc. Tommy Kidman.

Also, Spc. Jal W. Oomrigar; Staff Sgt. Terry T. Groulx; Chief Warrant Officer 3 Richard C. Isaksen; Tech Sgt. Gregory M. Littlefield; Sgt. Brett Kelly Nickell; Spc. Curtis A. Smith; Staff Sgt. Zackary S. Barton; Sgt. Matthew C. Larson; and Sgt. Landon L. Henscheid.

The legislative citation to them said, "May the examples of dedicated service of these brave men and women serve as examples to all of the commitment of Americans in defending liberty at home and abroad."






Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus