Home » News
Home » News

BYU's Haws, Hamson earn WCC Player of Year honors

Published March 4, 2014 12:21 pm

College basketball • Haws leads league in scoring for 2nd straight year; Hamson also earns defensive award
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2014, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

For the fourth time in his nine-year tenure as BYU basketball coach, Dave Rose has guided a conference player of the year.

Junior guard Tyler Haws received the West Coast Conference's highest individual player honor Monday as the league released its awards and all-conference team.

Haws and BYU sophomore guard Kyle Collinsworth earned all-WCC First Team honors, while junior guard Matt Carlino was named an honorable mention selection and forward Eric Mika was named to the WCC All-Freshman Team.

San Francisco's Rex Walter, who guided his team to a tie for second place with BYU in the league standings, is the WCC Coach of the Year. Pepperdine's Brendan Lane is the Defensive Player of the Year and Santa Clara's Jared Brownridge is the Newcomer of the Year.

Coaches vote on the conference honors and are directed to consider league games only. They cannot vote for their own players.

Haws led the WCC in scoring for the second straight season, averaging 23.5 points per game, exceeding the second-highest finisher by more than five points per game.

Keena Young (2007), Lee Cummard (2008) and Jimmer Fredette (2011) also won conference player of the year honors under Rose.

The Cougars swept the league's player of the year honors as Jennifer Hamson was named the WCC women's basketball Player of the Year.

Hamson was also named the league's Defensive Player of the Year and made the all-WCC First Team. Guard Lexi Eaton, who missed last year with a major knee injury, made the all-WCC First Team, while forward Kim Beeston was an honorable mention selection. —

Men's All-WCC first team

Name School Year Pos.

Kyle Collinsworth BYU So. G

Stacy Davis Pepperdine So. F

Johnny Dee San Diego Jr. G

Cole Dickerson USF Sr. F

Sam Dower Jr. Gonzaga Sr. F

Tyler Haws BYU Jr. G

Stephen Holt St. Mary's Sr. G

Anthony Ireland LMU Sr. G

Kevin Pangos Gonzaga Jr. G

Brad Waldow St. Mary's Jr. C

Women's All-WCC first team

Name School Year Pos.

Lexi Eaton BYU So. G

Sunny Greinccher Gonzaga Jr. F

Amy Kame San Diego Sr. G

Kendall Kenyon Pacific Jr. F

Danielle Mauldin St. Mary's Sr. F

KiKi Moore Pacific Sr. G

Jackie Nared Saint Mary's Sr. G

Haiden Palmer Gonzaga Jr. G

Hazel Ramirez LMU Sr. G






Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus