Home » News
Home » News

Tribune reporters, photographers, designers take top awards

Published March 7, 2014 10:43 am
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2014, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The Salt Lake Tribune won 40 awards, including 19 first-place prizes, in the Utah Press Association's annual Better Newspaper contest. Judges singled out the newspaper's yearlong coverage of the scandal enveloping former Utah Attorney General John Swallow, the same-sex marriage decision, and stories on health care reform and Utah's air pollution.

The awards were presented at the association's recent meeting in St. George.

The Tribune took the General Excellence award and its website, sltrib.com, was named best website in the state in the large-circulation category. The Tribune also won the Community Service Award for its investigation of Swallow.

Tribune reporters and writers who won first place awards are Brooke Adams, Erin Alberty, Thomas Burr, Matt Canham, Nate Carlisle, Jim Dalrymple, Tim Fitzpatrick, Robert Gehrke, Tom Harvey, Robert Kirby, Kurt Kragthorpe, Brian Maffly, Matt Piper, Tony Semerad, Peggy Fletcher Stack, Kirsten Stewart and Lya Wodraska. Tribune photographers Leah Hogsten, Francisco Kjolseth, Trent Nelson and Scott Sommerdorf also took top awards, as did page designers Matt Piper and Joe Whetham.

The Tooele Transcript Bulletin, Vernal Express, Price Sun Advocate and Sanpete Messenger earned general excellence recognition in their circulation categories.

Ellen Cook, editor of the Tremonton Leader, was presented with the association's Jim Cornwell Award. Deseret News Managing Editor Rick Hall received the master editor and publisher award. Brent Low, president and CEO of MediaOne, the company that handles advertising and production of Salt Lake City's daily newspapers, was given the association's John E. Jones Award. Joel Campbell, Brigham Young University journalism professor, was presented with the Honorary Publisher Award.

The Salt Lake Tribune




Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus