This is an archived article that was published on in 2014, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

9 a.m. Friday • Weber State University will hold 2014 graduation ceremonies at the Dee Event Center, 4400 Harrison Blvd., in Ogden. Speaking to the more than 4,900 graduates will be Ann Millner, who was the president of Weber State from 2002 to 2012.

She's now running for the Utah Legislature in the seat vacated by Sen. Stuart Reid, R-Ogden. The student speaker is accounting graduate Abelardo Saucedo.

Millner, Hank Hemingway and Van Summerill will receive honorary degrees.

Department of History chairwoman Susan Matt and Lisa Trujillo, assistant professor of respiratory therapy, will be presented with faculty awards, and three more professors — Jennifer Turley, chairwoman of the Department of Health Promotion and Human Performance; Kirk D. Hagen, chairman of the WSU Department of Engineering; and Julie Rich, an associate professor of geography ­— will be recognized as distinguished professors.

H. Aldous Dixon awards will go to Forrest C. Crawford, professor of teacher education, and Norm Tarbox, a vice president for administrative services.

Three colleges that collaborated to create a new neuroscience minor will be recognized for their teamwork.

Individual college commencements will be held after the main ceremonies; for times and locations visit:

Weber State grads, by the numbers

comments powered by Disqus