Home » News
Home » News

Utah innovators, visionaries, earn 'Enlightened 50' recognition

Published June 3, 2014 9:20 am

Philanthropy • Community Foundation of Utah honors those who make 'measurable' difference.
This is an archived article that was published on sltrib.com in 2014, and information in the article may be outdated. It is provided only for personal research purposes and may not be reprinted.

The Community Foundation of Utah has recognized 50 individuals who it says are making a measurable — but often unsung — difference in the state.

Members of the community nominate members of the "Enlightened 50," a news release said.

To qualify for nomination, an individual must be an innovator pioneering original and sustainable approaches to the critical issues facing our state and its people, a builder committed to community engagement and the common good, or a visionary most likely to make a profound mark on Utah's quality of life, according to the release.

The program is in its fifth year, the foundation said. It will induct this year's Enlightened 50 members on June 18.

Those earning recognition are the following:

Adam Sklute • Ballet West artistic director

Alan Matheson • Gov. Gary Herbert's environmental adviser

Alison Einerson • Downtown Alliance Winter Market manager

Andree Walker Bravo • The Utah Society for Environmental Education director

Anne Osborn • University of Utah neuroradiologist

Canyon Viau and Deja Viau • high school students and Freshman Inventors founders

Casey Jarman • Jarman founder

Charles Sorenson • Intermountain Healthcare president and CEO

Chris Bray • Utah Nonprofits Association CEO

Chris Burbank • Salt Lake City police chief

Chris Conard • Playworks director

Chris Peterson • Sorenson Unity Center director

Colin Fryer • Red Cliffs Lodge owner

Davey Davis • Bicycle Collective

Delite Primus • Youth Garden Project director

Doug Hansen • partner, Tanner and Co.

Doug Wortham • Rowland Hall teacher

Erin Mendenhall • Breathe Utah policy director

Holly Yocom • Utah Film Center director

Jackie Biskupski • community leader

James Alfandre • Kentlands Initiative director

Jamie Kent • Wasatch Backcountry Alliance board chairman

Jennifer Seelig • state representative

Jennifer Speers • community advocate

Jim Dabakis • state senator

Jim Magleby • attorney, Magleby & Greenwood

John Pace • attorney

Judith Kapuscinski • Kayenta Arts Foundation chairwoman

Karen Crompton • Voices for Utah Children president and CEO

Kathy Van Dame • Wasatch Clean Air Coalition policy coordinator

Kent Hayes • Kayenta Arts Foundation, co-artistic director

Linda C. Smith • Repertory Dance Theatre founder

Luz Robles • state senator

Lynn de Freitas • Friends of the Great Salt Lake director

Mara Rabin • Health & Human Rights director

Maria Garciaz • NeighborWorks Salt Lake director

Martha Wunderli • AAA Fair Credit Foundation interim director

Matt Pacenza • HEAL Utah policy director

Melanie Taylor • Fourth Street Clinic chief operating officer

Peggy Tomsic • attorney, Magleby & Greenwood

Scott Leckman • RESULTS board chairman

Shawn Peterson • The Green Urban Lunch Box director

Spencer P. Eccles • director of Governor's Office of Economic Development

Stephanie Pappas • Roofers Supply owner

Susan Vogel • Artes de Mexico en Utah co-founder

Tony Milner • Family Promise director

Travis Hysell • Legacy Initiative president

Trisha Worthington • Park City Foundation former executive director

Valerie Larabee • community leader

Zeke Dumke IV • attorney, Dumke Law






Reader comments on sltrib.com are the opinions of the writer, not The Salt Lake Tribune. We will delete comments containing obscenities, personal attacks and inappropriate or offensive remarks. Flagrant or repeat violators will be banned. If you see an objectionable comment, please alert us by clicking the arrow on the upper right side of the comment and selecting "Flag comment as inappropriate". If you've recently registered with Disqus or aren't seeing your comments immediately, you may need to verify your email address. To do so, visit disqus.com/account.
See more about comments here.
comments powered by Disqus