Rome • Germany midfielder Christoph Kramer was disoriented and confused after taking a heavy blow to the head early in the World Cup final, according to the match's referee.
"Shortly after the blow, Kramer came to me asking 'Ref, is this the final?' " Nicola Rizzoli told the Gazzetta dello Sport on Thursday. "I thought he was joking and made him repeat the question and then he said, 'I need to know if this is really the final.' When I said, 'Yes,' he concluded, 'Thanks, it was important to know that.'"
Rizzoli said he let midfielder Bastian Schweinsteiger know about the exchange during Sunday's game but Kramer continued playing for 14 minutes after the collision with Argentina defender Ezequiel Garay.